Brides of High Hill review

5/5 stars
Recommended if you like:
 fantasy, novellas, queer characters, light horror

Empress of Salt and Fortune review

When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain review

Into the Riverlands review

Mammoths at the Gates review

Big thanks to Netgalley, Tordotcom, and the author for an ARC in exchange for an honest review!

In this volume of Cleric Chih’s journey, they’re accompanying a young woman and her family to the woman’s wedding. While the bride-to-be is charming, her parents are more suspicious of Chih than anything, and the groom’s household is filled with mystery.

As usual, the story opens with Chih traveling and being with people who have the potential of a story. In this case, Chih sticks with the young woman, Nhung, as she explores what is to likely be her new home. Chih does attempt to talk to the kitchen staff and other workers, but they all shun them for reasons unknown. I was definitely curious because it seemed to have something to do with Chih’s proximity to the Phams (bride’s family) but more about the Phams’ position at the household than the family themselves.

Nhung was charming and vivacious, and I liked her eagerness. She also showed compassion to the groom’s “mad” son when everyone else seemed more disgusted or willing to dismiss him. For all her liveliness, she’s still young and worries about things in dark corners and the rafters.

Zhihao was an interesting character in this one. He was written off as “mad” by his father and the workers of the household, but Chih clues in immediately that the young man isn’t mad but has something else going on. While he does come across as rather abrasive, I think he genuinely was trying to warn Chih and the others.

I’ll say this, I knew something was up, not just with the groom’s household (which was obvious) but with Chih, I just didn’t know what. I’ll also say that Chih made some decisions that I was questioning but which made sense once the whole picture had been revealed.

I think this novella is most similar to When the Tiger Came Down the Mountain since both novellas feature some light gore (I actually think there’s more in Tiger than this one but similar ideas). I’d seen another review mention horror elements but I was still pleasantly surprised at the turn of events. It felt like it was going more in the direction of Rabbit’s story (re: her lover) from Empress but then things took a turn and we got to meet some devourers of flesh.

Overall I really enjoyed this addition to the Singing Hills Cycle. All the characters are pretty likeable even when they don’t appear they will be at first. I really liked how the story ramped up and the light horror elements that were added to the latter parts of the book. I’m definitely looking forward to the next installment of Chih and Almost Brilliant’s adventures!

One thought on “Brides of High Hill review

Leave a comment